What I wore for a day when I totally geeked out!

So, those of you that have been following my blog for a while will know two things. One, this is my first post in about two weeks, which I apologise for, because I’ve been seriously lacking in motivation for anything….my muse seemed to up and leave! Two, I’m a massive Harry Potter fan….like, to a level which really isn’t at all cool in a nearly thirty year old. But I don’t care, because I’ve accepted that I’m just a little bit strange and odd!!

When tickets went on sale for the studio tour at Leavesden, I just had to get my hands on some, and three hours later, I was the proud owner of a pair. Especially was proud of myself managing to get some during its week of opening. So yesterday Mummy Scribblings and I packed ourselves off for the three-hour drive down…accompanied by plenty of snacks, tunes and reading material.

Arriving really rather early, we got in ahead of our pre-booked slot and off we went for three hours toddling around it. I was in heaven, and I did think that I’d taken about 60-70 photos. I was flabbergasted when I looked at them on my computer when I got home that in fact I’d taken nearer 470 than 70. But I will state that half were blurry or multiple copies of something because I thought they might be blurry, so have half that number now.

Needless to say, I’m not going to post them all here….but I will share my favourites with you as actually, I think some of them are my best photography shots ever…thats all I needed, to get my geek on to produce fantastic pictures!

An old bird with some old birds….in other words, my mum stood in front of the shop that what sells owls. Her idea, fyi.

One of my personal favourite bits, mainly because it’s a Thestral and a dragon head. Yes, I am rather odd!

Me and the Knight Bus. Only way to travel, doncha know?!

And then me nipping round to visit the Dursleys. As you do. Or don’t, given that it’s not actually a real house!

Butterbeer. Nom. All I have to say on the matter.

I entirely and totally got excited by the large cabinet full of printed materials relating to the films….as a bit of a stationery geek, I was in heaven!!

One of my favourite bits, but slightly badly shot….The Ministry of Magic is one of my favourite inventions of JK Rowling’s!

I really want a self-packing suitcase. Would make life sooo much easier!

I want about ninety percent of what was in this cabinet…although they’d have to actually be magical!

A not real but I wish it was chocolate feast.

I’m actually fonder of Hufflepuff house, but the pic of their uniforms turned out rubbish. However, this marginally better picture features one highly sexy cardigan worn by Neville Longbottom aka Matthew Lewis whom ticks my ‘proper man and northern’ boxes (the actor that is, not Neville. Neville only remotely attractive in last film when swinging his sword around.)

So, after making you all fall asleep with far, far, far too many pictures of stuff you may or may not be interested in, I now get back to my usual programming of blogging my outfit of the day!

So slightly blurry picture….it was taken once we got home, so apologies but methinks my mum was too tired to take a non shaky picture for me!

As always, my clothes are somewhat ancient but rather beloved….in fact, everything I’m wearing, apart from my trainers which you can’t see, are from Evans. But like, a few years back, so they wont stock anything I’ve got on. Baaad poor blogger!

I went for the comfort look on Tuesday, as I knew that there would be a lot of sitting in the car and walking around….and I have to say, I felt reasonably stylish to say I’d aimed for comfort over style somewhat!!

Here’s hoping this post means I’m back on the blogging wagon and many more posts are to follow!!

16 thoughts on “What I wore for a day when I totally geeked out!

  1. Ooooh wow. Diagon Alley is just brilliant, I think I really have to go and experience it in person – love the snap of your Mum outside Eeylops (presuming Eeylops given they are owls!) and if I could take a spin on the Knight Bus I’d be a very happy girl.

    The production on the Potter films was mind blowing really – would have loved to be a fly on wall while they were designing packaging for Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes products and the format for The Quibbler šŸ™‚

    Jem xXx

    • I want to take you!! I kept thinking ‘I wish I could go back with Jem!’….maybe thats an idea for my 30th ;p

      But yes, my Mum is outside Eeylops – she really did think that was a hilarious idea! But yes, it would have been amazing to have been able to see all these things as they got made!!

  2. If we’d have moved when we were supposed to, this would have been just around the corner from my house šŸ˜¦

    It does look fab – I am desperate for my eldest to finish the books and films, cos there’s no point in us going until he’s properly familiar with it all!
    x

    • Oh shucks!! That definitely would be ace to live around the corner from it though!! But yes, my sister took her kids whom two out of three are famillar with the films and apparently they loved it….but then in my family its kind of a requirement to be a huge fan!!

  3. I was definitely NOT falling asleep. The pictures are very cool, hopefully I get to go there one day. The rest of your blog is great as well…

Leave a Reply

